Sunn O))), 'Monoliths & Dimensions' (Southern Lord)

Critical Mass

by SPIN Staff

Well known as purveyors of viscous guitar sludge, the duo of Stephen O'Malley and Greg Anderson expand their ambitions and make some startling jazz-ensemble noises on their seventh album. Monoliths & Dimensions not only features previous collaborators like Hungarian growler Attila Csihar and Australian experimental guitarist Oren Ambarchi, but also new ones like Sun Ra's old reedman Julius Priester. On "Aghartha," Sunn O)))'s tar pits now bubble with atonal strings and eerie brass, while "Alice" (named after John Coltrane's widow) inverts all expectations; negative space infuses their pulverizing tendencies, revealing that light is the new heavy.

Watch: Sunn O))) -- Live in Mexico City



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 M.I.A. — Gold " 01:48
  • 2 A Sunny Day in Glasgow — Bye Bye, Big Ocean (The End) [Ice Choir Remix] " 04:35
  • 3 Azealia Banks — Heavy Metal And Reflective " 02:31
  • 4 Mystery Skulls — Paralyzed (Single Version) " 02:34
  • 5 G-Eazy — Say Ft. French Montana " 04:32
  • 6 Kevin Morby — We Did It All Wrong " 04:47
  • 7 Kiesza — Giant In My Heart (Arches Remix) " 05:50

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA