Sonny J, 'Disastro' (Astralwerks)

Critical Mass
Label: astralwerks

by Barry Walters

Remember when samples from junk-store LPs set to big beats ruled dance floors? England's Sonnington James III certainly does: His debut album combines the beer-fueled camaraderie of early Fatboy Slim with the sugar-rushin' kiddie euphoria of the Go! Team. This seaside cowboy also ropes in country weepers, spooky psych rock, Jackson 5–cloned bubblegum soul, and more. Spoken bits that initially provoke chuckles may grow tiresome, but the goofy hooks of carefree single "Can't Stop Moving" keep the glee flowing.



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Roger Sellers — Waves " 06:30
  • 2 Dorian Concept — Ann River, Mn " 04:08
  • 3 Run the Jewels — Blockbuster Night Part 1 " 02:32
  • 4 T.I. — New National Anthem Feat Skylar Grey " 04:17
  • 5 Anna Lunoe — All Out (Kastle Remix) " 04:37
  • 6 Katy Perry — Katy Perry - This Is How We Do (feat. RiFF RAFF) " 03:24

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA