Silversun Pickups, 'Swoon' (Dangerbird)

Critical Mass

by Mikael Wood

These dreamy Los Angeles rockers keep the guitars thick and gauzy on the follow-up to their 2006 debut, Carnavas, which recalled vintage Smashing Pumpkins more than the Pumpkins' own Zeitgeist did. But the Pickups also pile on the sophomore-album enhancements here, deepening a sound that scarcely wanted for depth beforehand; check out the shuddering string jabs on "The Royal We" (recalling Zeppelin's "Kashmir") and the outer-space synth flutters coursing through "Catch and Release." A trip best made with headphones.



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Twin Peaks — Strawberry Smoothie " 02:24
  • 2 Jessie Ware — Share It All " 04:18
  • 3 Rustie — Attak (feat. Danny Brown) " 03:01
  • 4 M.I.A. — Gold " 01:48
  • 5 A Sunny Day in Glasgow — Bye Bye, Big Ocean (The End) [Ice Choir Remix] " 04:35

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA