Shocking Pinks, 'Shocking Pinks' (DFA/ Astralwerks)

Shocking Pinks
Critical Mass
Label: DFA/Astralwerks

by Andrew Earles

The Shocking Pinks' self-titled debut could be the result of a supergroup featuring members of bands on the fabled New Zealand label Flying Nun -- the Clean, the Chills, the Verlaines, the Bats. This is no accident, as Pinks leader Chris Harte grew up immersed in the influential jangle of his homeland, where there were hooks to burn. It also appears that Harte wore out an import copy of My Bloody Valentine's Isn't Anything (see "Blonde Haired Girl"). Revivalist? Sure, but this refreshing, smarter side of the late '80s has yet to be co-opted into a hipster fashion show.

Now Hear This: Shocking Pinks - "I Want U Back" DOWNLOAD MP3



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA