Sebastien Grainger, 'Sebastien Grainger & the Mountains' (Saddle Creek)

Sebastien Grainger & the Mountains
Critical Mass
Label: Saddle Creek

by Stacey Anderson

Death From Above 1979 is DOA, and former bassist-synth dude Jesse F. Keeler (now of MSTRKRFT) apparently got custody of the dance-punk spazzitude, while drummer-singer Sebastien Grainger has embraced the devil-horned machismo. Grainger's solo efforts are more restrained than DFA 1979's sweaty frenzy, and ultimately, his blues-frilled rock would be pretty pallid if not for the playfully sarcastic undercurrents, though "I Hate My Friends" is the boisterous stadium rocker that Superchunk never wrote.



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Jessie Ware — Share It All " 04:18
  • 2 Rustie — Attak (feat. Danny Brown) " 03:01
  • 3 M.I.A. — Gold " 01:48
  • 4 A Sunny Day in Glasgow — Bye Bye, Big Ocean (The End) [Ice Choir Remix] " 04:35
  • 5 Azealia Banks — Heavy Metal And Reflective " 02:31
  • 6 Kevin Morby — We Did It All Wrong " 04:47

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA