The Sea and Cake, 'Everybody' (Thrill Jockey)

Critical Mass
Label: Thrill Jockey

by Jon Young

A quick taste of the Sea and Cake's sighing voices and moonlit guitars could raise suspicions of a simple chill-out session. But after a decade-plus in action, Sam Prekop's crew have mastered a more intricate approach, seasoning their gently introspective tales of "distracted and lazy" lovers with stronger ingredients. Here, John McEntire's unusually loud drums issue a bracing rebuttal to the passive melodies, while the psychedelic buzz of "Left On" unleashes the simmering weirdness that's muted elsewhere.

Now Hear This: The Sea and Cake - "Crossing Line" DOWNLOAD MP3



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 SFV Acid — And No Stress " 07:46
  • 2 Dub Thompson — No Time " 04:03
  • 3 Big Search — Game of Images " 05:02
  • 4 Trash Talk — "Cloudkicker" " 03:00
  • 5 Little Dragon — Let Go " 04:05
  • 6 BOOTS — Dreams (feat. Beyoncé) " 04:55

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA