The Rapture, 'Tapes' (!K7)

Critical Mass
Label: !K7

by Josh Modell

Fans of the Rapture might not be familiar with many of the artists on the New York dance punks' swift, 80-minute DJ mix; only a few (Ghostface, Richie Havens!) -- have poked their heads out from the underground. But what Tapes lacks in classic names, it makes up for in flow -- D.C. go-go (Junkyard Band), Chicago house (Cajmere, Paul Johnson), and vintage funk (the Bar-Kays, the Undisputed Truth) blend into one long ideal song for roller-skating or just dressing up like you're planning on roller-skating. Even the less party-friendly guests, like Kraftwerk-loving Syclops, can't slow the roll.



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Little Big League — Tropical Jinx " 01:59
  • 2 ScHoolboy Q — Studio (Remix) Feat. Nas & BJ the CHicago Kid " 04:52
  • 3 White Arrows — I Want a Taste " 04:15
  • 4 Miley Cyrus — Baby, I'm Gonna Leave You - Led Zeppelin (Cover) " 05:44
  • 5 Chris Brown & Trey Songz — Tuesday (Remix) " 04:26

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA