Pinback, 'Autumn of the Seraphs' (Touch and Go)

Autumn of the Seraphs
Critical Mass
Label: Touch and Go

by J Niimi

Rob Crow and Zach Smith are perfectionists, and each Pinback album results from years of obsessive labor in their San Diego home studio. Their previous three albums were marvels of sublime prog pop, and there's more of the same here, with the stately piano and rarified vocal harmonies of "How We Breathe." But for a band defined by its hermetic, hypnotic rhythms, the replacement of longtime drummer Tom Zinser (by the Black Heart Procession's Mario Rubalcaba and No Knife's Chris Prescott) results in too many perfectly good songs that never quite approach greatness.

Now Hear This: Pinback - "From Nothing to Nowhere" DOWNLOAD MP3



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 2 Yak — Something on Your Mind " 03:40
  • 3 Kopecky — Quarterback " 02:52
  • 4 Ava Luna — Coat Of Shellac " 03:45
  • 5 Young Guv — Ripe 4 Luv " 32:41
  • 6 Big Harp — It's a Shame " 01:57
  • 7 Blood Orange — Delancey " 02:15

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA