Pete Yorn & Scarlett Johansson, 'Break Up' (Atco/Rhino)

Break Up
Critical Mass

by Sean Fennessey

No longer awash in the sonic gloop of her misguided Tom Waits reappraisal Anywhere I Lay My Head, Scarlett Johansson finally sounds as she should: husky, hearty, jazzy. Like a pinup Peggy Lee. Unfortunately, this "duets" album -- recorded in '06 -- isn't her show. Instead, Yorn, after a bad breakup, recorded eight sad-bastard originals (plus the gorgeous Chris Bell cover "I Am the Cosmos") and cast the actress as Bardot to his Gainsbourg. But these AM radio throwbacks are no match for the Franco-pop king, and Yorn -- who's struggled to match his affecting 2001 debut, Musicforthemorningafter -- oughta know better.



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Little Big League — Tropical Jinx " 01:59
  • 2 ScHoolboy Q — Studio (Remix) Feat. Nas & BJ the CHicago Kid " 04:52
  • 3 Miley Cyrus — Baby, I'm Gonna Leave You - Led Zeppelin (Cover) " 05:44
  • 4 Chris Brown & Trey Songz — Tuesday (Remix) " 04:26
  • 5 Buzzcocks — "It's Not You" " 02:46

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA