Panther, 'Entropy' (Kill Rock Stars)

Critical Mass

by Spencer Kornhaber

Judged on ideas alone, the second album by this Portland, Oregon duo sounds restlessly intriguing. "Latitudes for Centuries" opens with a tricky lattice of pseudo-ragtime piano and sighing vocal harmonies, while "Springwater" gallops away with skyward-shooting slide guitar and a rambling bass line. Rhythms jitter pleasingly and guitars transmit hooks effectively. But rendered with thudding, '90s-indie production (think early Modest Mouse or Dismemberment Plan), Entropy's 16 tracks too often feel like a slog.



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Twin Peaks — Strawberry Smoothie " 02:24
  • 2 Jessie Ware — Share It All " 04:18
  • 3 Rustie — Attak (feat. Danny Brown) " 03:01
  • 4 M.I.A. — Gold " 01:48
  • 5 A Sunny Day in Glasgow — Bye Bye, Big Ocean (The End) [Ice Choir Remix] " 04:35

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA