Omar Rodriguez-Lopez, 'Xenophanes' (Rodriguez-Lopez Productions)

Critical Mass

by Spencer Kornhaber

At this point, a new Omar Rodríguez-López album sounds about as thrilling as a Law & Order rerun: Excluding Mars Volta recordings, Xenophanes is his 11th release since 2007. But there's reason to take notice this time, as the album relegates the guitarist's often-tedious sonic experiments to mere interludes. The majority of these tracks are well-drawn interstellar metal songs, featuring López spouting operatic choruses in Spanish (assisted by Mexican singer-songwriter Ximena Sariñana). The result is a listenable, more conventional version of his primary band. Though refreshing in a solo-career context, we've heard most of this stuff before.



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 KLOË — Grip " 03:24
  • 2 Dead Right! — Rising Tide (Saint Motel Remix) " 03:17
  • 3 The-Dream — Fruition " 04:33
  • 4 A. G. Cook — What I Mean " 04:06
  • 5 Howardian — Be Fruitful " 02:03
  • 6 The Suffers — Make Some Room " 04:34

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA