Nosaj Thing, 'Drift' (Alpha Pup)

Critical Mass
Label: Alpha Pup

by Mosi Reeves

Jason "Nosaj Thing" Chung is the latest product of Los Angeles' heralded "beat music" scene, where artists such as Flying Lotus merge instrumental hip-hop and laptop electronics. Nosaj's remarkable, entrancing debut album gathers sundry influences, from U.K. dubstep to Aphex Twin-styled IDM, into a 36-minute computerized symphony. He converts a choral voice into eerie gales on "Coat of Arms," then speeds up the percussive blips of "IOIO" into sticky, squelching funk. You can easily imagine an MC rapping over these tracks, getting lost in the wondrously alien beats.



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 J Dilla — Give Em What They Want " 02:45
  • 2 Low Leaf — Set Me Free " 02:13
  • 3 Doe Paoro — Nobody " 03:05
  • 4 Chromeo with Ezra Koenig — Ezra's Interlude " 01:55
  • 5 The Julie Ruin — Brightside " 03:04
  • 6 Mirel Wagner — What Love Looks Like " 03:07
  • 7 Amen Dunes — I Can't Dig It " 04:53

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA