The New Year, 'The New Year' (Touch and Go)

The New Year
Critical Mass
Label: Touch and Go

by Jessica Suarez

Over the lullaby guitars of "Wages of Sleep," brothers Matt and Bubba Kadane recommend that "eight hours of sleep can make anything go away." And nearly every song on the New Year's third record nudges the listener toward slumber, whether at a gentle loping pace ("MMV") or with a circular melody ("Seven Days and Seven Nights"). Key elements -- shy vocals, shimmery guitar -- remain from the Kadanes' previous band, slow-core pioneers Bedhead, though Matt now actually enunciates the band's diary entries. Songs that build so gradually always gravitate toward reflection, and only brief moments of self-loathing spur any dynamic shifts; eventually, they (or you) will drift off once again.



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA