New White Denim MP3: "Sitting"

Critical Mass

by William Goodman

Thanks to the high marks issued to their debut EP, Let's Talk About It, which dropped in May 2007, Austin, TX, trio White Denim joined the likes of Tokyo Police Club and Black Kids as bands building buzz without a full-length release. Now, two months out from the Nov. 3 release of their debut album, Explosion, the record's first leak, "Sitting," proves that White Denim's tenure as conversational fodder for in-the-know audiophiles won't end anytime soon.

An Americana-style mix of electric keyboards, slashing guitars, and drums, "Sitting" is layered in distant, empty-booze-bottle vocals, and features a lengthy tune-capping reprise punctuated by reverberating chants of, "You sitting with me." Even an unexpected saxophone solo (saxophone!) only adds to the band's appealing mix of rustic Texan-bred country, garage-rock urgency, and psychedelic nuance.

Now Hear This: White Denim, "Sitting"(DOWNLOAD MP3)

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 2 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 3 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 4 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24
  • 5 Chelsea Lankes — Too Young to Fall in Love " 03:11
  • 6 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 7 Holly Miranda — All I Want Is to Be Your Girl " 02:35

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA