Neil Young, 'Sugar Mountain Live at Canterbury House 1968' (Reprise)

Sugar Mountain Live at Canterbury House 1968
Critical Mass
Label: Reprise

by Jaan Uhelszki

A dark, spectral presence in '60s folk rockers Buffalo Springfield, the youthful Neil Young also had an unnerving social adeptness.His deceptively fragile vocal style and skewed lyrical genius were already evident at age 22 in these 13 acoustic songs recorded over two nights at a Michigan Episcopal church.The chatty singer quickly had the bemused audience under his sway -- the epic sketch"Broken Arrow" presaged "Cortez the Killer"; "Out of My Mind" was as much premonition as tune; and "I've Been Waiting for Such a Long Time" was the foundation for many Young songs to come thatsuggested love could save his life.

More on >> Neil Young Kicks Off North American Tour >> Bridge School Concert Lineup: Wilco, Death Cab... Josh Groban?

Listen: Neil Young, Sugar Mountain: Live at Canterbury House 1968



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 OOFJ — I Forgive You " 03:52
  • 2 MyMidnightHeart — D R O W N " 04:59
  • 3 In Tall Buildings — Bawl Cry Wail " 04:08
  • 4 Slutever — Smother " 01:55
  • 5 Lithuania — Pieces " 03:40
  • 6 Kuroma — Love Is on the Way " 03:29
  • 7 Big Sean — Blessings " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA