Mungolian Jet Set, 'We Gave It All Away...And Now We Are Taking It Back' (Smalltown Supersound)

We Gave It All Away...And Now We Are Taking It Back
Critical Mass
Label: Smalltown Supersound

by Jon Young

Totally serious about their absurdity, these Norwegian oddballs use dance beats to launch consciousness-tweaking head trips. Collecting originals, remixes, and collaborations, this lavish feast -- two discs running precisely 59:15 apiece -- finds Paul "Strangefruit" Nyhus and company cheerfully deconstructing disco, prog rock, New Age, and anything else they can repurpose to inspire blissful giggles. The deranged synths and goofy voices echo classic sounds without mimicry; "Milano Model," for one, recalls George Clinton at his most enjoyably silly. Björk should recruit these guys for her next album.



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Paperwhite — Pieces " 03:58
  • 2 Michael Rault — Nothing Means Nothing " 02:56
  • 3 Gold Beach — Impressions " 04:32
  • 4 GENUFLEX — The Last Gods (Mark Stewart And Rambone Remix) " 05:13
  • 5 Sleigh Bells — That Did It Feat. Tink " 02:41
  • 6 Monster Rally & Jay Stone — Recollection " 02:10
  • 7 Little Boots — Pretty Tough " 03:18

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA