MSTRKRFT, 'Fist of God' (Dim Mak/Downtown)

Critical Mass

by David Marchese

Forgoing the flimsy vocoder-reliant sound of their 2006 debut, Toronto duo Jesse F. Keeler (formerly of Death From Above 1979) and Al P. have gotten better by getting heavier. With crunching synth riffs, fat house rhythms, and thick Justice-style scuzz, tracks like "It Ain't Love" and "1000 Cigarettes" accommodate both headbangers and hip-shakers. Though guests such as Ghostface Killah and E-40 get a bit lost in the maelstrom, things only drag when the sound softens, as on the bland, John Legend showcase "Heartbreaker." Fist isn't quite a God punch, but it hits with legit impact.

Listen: MSTRKRFT feat. E-40, "Click Click" (DOWNLOAD MP3)



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Roger Sellers — Waves " 06:30
  • 2 Dorian Concept — Ann River, Mn " 04:08
  • 3 Run the Jewels — Blockbuster Night Part 1 " 02:32
  • 4 T.I. — New National Anthem Feat Skylar Grey " 04:17
  • 5 Anna Lunoe — All Out (Kastle Remix) " 04:37
  • 6 Katy Perry — Katy Perry - This Is How We Do (feat. RiFF RAFF) " 03:24

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA