Moritz von Oswald Trio, "Vertical Ascent" (Honest Jon's)

Critical Mass

by SPIN Staff

Von Oswald has been at the vanguard of electronic music for almost two decades, remaking German techno into something befitting a supercollider -- spacious, echoing, metalencased -- with Basic Channel, Maurizio, and Rhythm & Sound. Surrounded by fellow electronic abstractionist Sasu Ripatti (working here in his "Vladislav Delay" guise) and Sun Electric's Max Loderbauer, the trio explore the murky outer limits where dark ambient, dub, industrial, improv, and techno mingle. Otherwise stolid electro beats become pliant and fuzzy on "Pattern 1," while "Pattern 3" mixes the mechanical and organic as expertly as Aphex Twin's classic Selected Ambient Works Vol. 2.



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Parkay Quarts — Uncast Shadow Of A Southern Myth " 06:27
  • 2 Digitalism — Second Chance " 04:53
  • 3 Kiesza — Bad Thing Feat. Joey Bada$$ " 03:32
  • 4 Bob Dylan — 900 Miles from My Home " 02:14

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA