Mirah, '(a)spera' (K)

Critical Mass

by Lindsey Thomas

It's easy to create intimacy with just voice and guitar, but how many artists can squeeze a drum line into that equation? On her fourth album, Portland, Oregon singer/songwriter Mirah Yom Tov Zeitlyn expands her sound palette, somehow adapting a Carnival parade for the otherwise restrained "Country of the Future." But whether picking out a simple melody on kalimba ("While We Have the Sun") or building grand layers of group chants, electric guitar growl, and mariachi horns ("The Forest"), she always sounds like she's playing to an audience of one.



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Twin Peaks — Strawberry Smoothie " 02:24
  • 2 Jessie Ware — Share It All " 04:18
  • 3 Rustie — Attak (feat. Danny Brown) " 03:01
  • 4 M.I.A. — Gold " 01:48
  • 5 A Sunny Day in Glasgow — Bye Bye, Big Ocean (The End) [Ice Choir Remix] " 04:35

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA