Minus the Bear, 'Planet of Ice' (Suicide Squeeze)

Planet of Ice
Critical Mass
Label: Suicide Squeeze

by Peter Gaston

Despite a flair for alternately quirky and languid prog pop on their first three albums, Seattle's Minus the Bear have always undercut themselves with awkward moments of juvenilia, like branding their shifty ditties with shudder-worthy, Fall Out Boy-style titles such as "I Lost All My Money at the Cock Fights." But the band's latest is sublimely elegant and more maturely conceived. It comes to a head when glitchy synths skip into playful free-form guitar on "Knights," then eases into the delicate ebb and flow of "When We Escape," a mid-tempo ode to newfound lust.

Now Hear This: Minus the Bear - "Knights" DOWNLOAD MP3



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA