Midnight Juggernauts, 'The Crystal Axis' (Siberia/Inertia)

The Crystal Axis
Critical Mass
Label: Siberia/Inertia

by Barry Walters

This unabashedly spongy Melbourne three-piece dramatically improve upon a spotty debut by letting their prog flag fly. Gone are the French house beats and repetitive riffs that gave their heftiest hooks immediate impact and squashed everything else. Instead, knotty arrangements of alternately poppy and moody tunes suggest Pink Floyd gone new wave; chugging guitars skank around gloriously garish mellotron choirs and cosmic Moog ooze, while the lyrics babble stoned nonsense about glorified viragos and shining on like (crazy) diamonds. All that's missing is the Laserium.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 M.I.A. — Gold " 01:48
  • 2 A Sunny Day in Glasgow — Bye Bye, Big Ocean (The End) [Ice Choir Remix] " 04:35
  • 3 Azealia Banks — Heavy Metal And Reflective " 02:31
  • 4 Mystery Skulls — Paralyzed (Single Version) " 02:34
  • 5 G-Eazy — Say Ft. French Montana " 04:32
  • 6 Kevin Morby — We Did It All Wrong " 04:47
  • 7 Kiesza — Giant In My Heart (Arches Remix) " 05:50

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA