Men Without Pants, 'Naturally' (Expansion Team)

Critical Mass
Label: Expansion Team

by Josh Modell

Blues Explosion's Russell Simins and beat whiz Dan the Automator (Gorillaz, Hand- some Boy Modeling School, Deltron 3030) couldn't have picked a better name -- their sex-dappled blues-rocktronica suggests frequent pantslessness. Simins is at the helm, providing vocals, guitars, and drums on tracks both sleazy-slinky ("Superfine")and bare-bones garage-y ("Double Life"). The Automator adds sample splashes and atmosphere -- "Let's Meet in Real Life" sounds like a rock version of a Dr. Octagon instrumental -- and the duo is joined by intriguing guests including Yeah Yeah Yeahs' Nick Zinner and Cibo Matto's Yuka Honda. It's all blatantly unsubtle, but also raucously fun.



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 J. Cole — Be Free " 04:01
  • 2 Captain Murphy — Cosplay " 02:41
  • 3 Charli XCX — Break the Rules " 03:24
  • 4 Eve — The Beat Is So Crazy (featuring Madonna) " 04:00
  • 5 Roger Sellers — Waves " 06:30
  • 6 Dorian Concept — Ann River, Mn " 04:08

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA