Major Stars, 'Mirror/Messenger' (Drag City)

Critical Mass
Label: Drag City

by Amanda Petrusich

Having lost one member and added three, this Massachusetts-based band features six players and eight songs of chunky, ear-warping rock'n'roll on their sixth album. Throughout the solo-fueled "East to West," frontwoman Sandra Barrett hollers and wails while her bandmates' caustic guitars (all three!) drill millions of tiny holes in your speakers. Unlike their raucous predecessors (Bad Company, Sonic Youth, Heartless Bastards), Major Stars have scant patience for ballads, and Mirror/Messenger is unrelenting and implacable: Prepare to end up splayed on the floor, gasping for air, arms limp from 38 minutes of nonstop devil horns.

Now Hear This:Major Stars - "Portable Freak Factory" DOWNLOAD MP3



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Little Big League — Tropical Jinx " 01:59
  • 2 ScHoolboy Q — Studio (Remix) Feat. Nas & BJ the CHicago Kid " 04:52
  • 3 Miley Cyrus — Baby, I'm Gonna Leave You - Led Zeppelin (Cover) " 05:44
  • 4 Chris Brown & Trey Songz — Tuesday (Remix) " 04:26
  • 5 Buzzcocks — "It's Not You" " 02:46

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA