Luomo, 'Convivial' (Huume)

Critical Mass
Label: Huume

by Philip Sherburne

On his fourth album, Luomo (a.k.a. Sasu Ripatti, the Finnish electronic minimalist who also records as Vladislav Delay) stays true to the course he began with 2000's Vocalcity, which announced itself as "the next chapter in house." Dub-disco bass, wax-paper drum hits, and powdery synthesizers chug away, channeling an alternate '90s where nobody forgot how to dance. But his songwriting has grown more ambitious, as has his choice of guest vocalists: Berlin's emo-leaning techno-popper Apparat conjures Depeche Mode's Martin Gore at his most heartbroken ("Love You All"), while Scissor Sisters' Jake Shears brings surprising gravitas to the frothy "If I Can't."



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Young Buffalo — No Idea " 03:59
  • 2 Vaadat Charigim — Ein Li Makom " 03:46
  • 3 Lindstrøm — Home Tonight " 09:13
  • 4 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 5 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 6 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 7 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA