Lightspeed Champion, 'Life Is Sweet! Nice to Meet You' (Domino)

Life Is Sweet! Nice to Meet You
Critical Mass
Label: Domino

by Barry Walters

With his 2008 solo debut, this Houston-born, U.K.-raised, and now New York–based singer-songwriter left behind noise-dance trio Test Icicles to become an Anglo-accented Bright Eyes. Here, Devonté Hynes pens an indie-rock passion play that picks up the tempo and spotlights his thespian skills. Overenunciated diction? Check. Scenery-chewing delivery? Check. Violin orgies and curtain-call-worthy choruses? Check, check. Crying "Kill me, baby, won't you kill me" with characteristic overstatement and newfound catchiness, this quintessential outsider may not win back his sadistic sweetheart, but he's found a far moreflattering mask.

MORE ON SPIN.COM: Find out the story behind the name Lightspeed Champion



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 OOFJ — I Forgive You " 03:52
  • 2 MyMidnightHeart — D R O W N " 04:59
  • 3 In Tall Buildings — Bawl Cry Wail " 04:08
  • 4 Slutever — Smother " 01:55
  • 5 Lithuania — Pieces " 03:40
  • 6 Kuroma — Love Is on the Way " 03:29
  • 7 Big Sean — Blessings " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA