Langhorne Slim, 'Be Set Free' (Kemado)

Critical Mass

by Spencer Kornhaber

Most alt-country fetishizes cowboy days, but Langhorne Slim's third full-length does so while swiping tricks from this decade's best rock bands. The joyful chorus of "Say Yes" could have been shouted by Arcade Fire, while "I Love You, But Goodbye" walks the same line between loveliness and dissonance as Wilco. Slim aims for the gut but usually ends up hitting the hips; either way, his relentlessly cloying lyrics ensure that Be Set Free is more suitable for soundtracks and square dances than headphones.



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Roger Sellers — Waves " 06:30
  • 2 Dorian Concept — Ann River, Mn " 04:08
  • 3 Run the Jewels — Blockbuster Night Part 1 " 02:32
  • 4 T.I. — New National Anthem Feat Skylar Grey " 04:17
  • 5 Anna Lunoe — All Out (Kastle Remix) " 04:37
  • 6 Katy Perry — Katy Perry - This Is How We Do (feat. RiFF RAFF) " 03:24

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA