Ladyhawk, 'Shots' (Jagjaguwar)

Critical Mass
Label: Jagjaguwar

by Josh Modell

On its long, cold journey to Ladyhawk's home in southern Canada, Southern rock took comfort in melancholy, stopped in Kentucky to get some tips from My Morning Jacket, and lost most of its swagger. On this Vancouver band's second album, they embrace the beleaguered genre's big guitar bravado, tempering it with boozy balladry (the lovely, simple "[I'll Be Your] Ashtray") and ornery indie rock (the squalling "Night You're Beautiful"). It's a winning rethink, salvaging the best bits of a musical style that's too easily dismissed.



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Katy Perry — Katy Perry - This Is How We Do (feat. RiFF RAFF) " 03:24
  • 2 Prince & 3RDEYEGIRL — Prince - Clouds " 04:34
  • 3 P. Reign — DnF (feat. Drake & Future) " 03:25
  • 4 Stalley — Jackin' Chevys (Prod. by Rashad) " 03:26
  • 5 Emile Haynie — A Kiss Goodbye (feat. Charlotte Gainsbourg, Devonté Hynes, Sampha) " 03:46
  • 6 Rusko — I Wanna Mingle (ft Pusher) " 02:37

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA