Korallreven, 'An Album by Korallreven' (Acephale)

An Album by Korallreven
Critical Mass
Release Date: November 15, 2011
Label: Acéphale

by Puja Patel

You can always count on the Swedes for cheery nostalgia. Inspired by a trip to the South Pacific. Marcus Joons and Daniel Tjäder tease their debut album out of shimmering Balearic landscapes and luxuriant meditations -- the wistful line "a dream within a dream" (heard on "Keep Your Eyes Shut") best sums up An Album. The ten songs here are a euphoric whirl of church choirs, lushly layered cymbals, poppy clap tracks, and heady psych rock, evoking peers like Tough Alliance and Tanlines. With creeping, upbeat synth melodies ("Comin' Closer") and catchy drum loops ("As Young as Yesterday"), this is dream pop of the highest order.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA