John Frusciante, 'The Empyrean' (Record Collection)

Critical Mass

by Shannon Zimmerman

John Frusciante's career away from the Red Hot Chili Peppers has been wildly, even exhaustingly, ambitious -- The Empyrean is his tenth solo album (and sixth since 2004). Unshackled again from the need to craft radio-­ready riffs, the guitarist unfurls long­-winded but beguiling keepers such as "Before the Beginning," a bittersweet, serpentine instrumental. "God" nods to effervescent, Zombies-­style '60s pop, while he warbles in a charmingly fragile falsetto. But the highlight is set closer "After the Ending," a wobbly, synth­-drenched power ballad that showcases Frusciante's knack for warping even the most hackneyed forms into intriguing new shapes.



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Roger Sellers — Waves " 06:30
  • 2 Dorian Concept — Ann River, Mn " 04:08
  • 3 Run the Jewels — Blockbuster Night Part 1 " 02:32
  • 4 T.I. — New National Anthem Feat Skylar Grey " 04:17
  • 5 Katy Perry — Katy Perry - This Is How We Do (feat. RiFF RAFF) " 03:24

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA