Jeffrey Lewis & the Junkyard, ' 'Em Are I' (Rough Trade)

Critical Mass

by Stacey Anderson

What's that they say -- a Moldy Peach gathers no moss? Antifolk singer-songwriter Jeffrey Lewis has more than a little in common with lo-fi predecessors Kimya Dawson and Adam Green: scratchy, duct-taped melodies, free-form yelps, and incongruous lyrics that hint at a deeper darkness (see the willful country stampede "Whistle Past the Graveyard"). But Lewis also lightens his fifth album with sweet, sincere interludes ("To Be Objectified," "It's Not Impossible"). A skilled cartoonist, he recently drew a revealing strip in the New York Times that read: "Y'gotta whittle down the self-consciousness of audience reaction in order to do anything."



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 J Dilla — Give Em What They Want " 02:45
  • 2 Low Leaf — Set Me Free " 02:13
  • 3 Doe Paoro — Nobody " 03:05
  • 4 Chromeo with Ezra Koenig — Ezra's Interlude " 01:55
  • 5 The Julie Ruin — Brightside " 03:04
  • 6 Mirel Wagner — What Love Looks Like " 03:07
  • 7 Amen Dunes — I Can't Dig It " 04:53

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA