James Durbin, 'Memories of a Beautiful Disaster' (Wind-Up)

Mixed For Feet Vol.1
Critical Mass
Release Date: November 21, 2011
Label: Wind-Up

by Mikael Wood

Rockers freshly graduated from American Idol could do worse than hooking up with producer Howard Benson, as Chris Daughtry proved five years ago. Now comes the debut from Season 10's fourth-place finisher James Durbin, and like the quadruple-platinum Daughtry, Memories of a Beautiful Disaster positions its headliner's voice amid a perfect swarm of polished mall-metal guitars built to flatter the finest hooks post-Idol money can buy. And though Durbin's singing lacks the strange sensuality of his predecessor, he might have slightly more interesting tastes: The glam-trashy "Love in Ruins" (co-written by Anna Waronker of That Dog) would've fit comfortably on the latest from My Chemical Romance.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA