Giant Sand, 'proVisions' (Yep Roc)

Critical Mass
Label: Yep Roc

by Shannon Zimmerman

With its galumphing rhythms and down-home accents, provisions straddles the fence between parody and poetry, ultimately landing safely on its poetic ass, thanks to lines that transcend Flannery O'Connor 101: "Every girl is like a pearl / Hearts strung along and then left stranded," ringleaderHowe Gelb muses. Occasional Hee Haw–level throwbacks muck up the works (the dopey "Can Do," for instance, featuring M. Ward). But despite the album's cornpone reflex and occasional meandering, guitar-diddling foray ("Muck Machine" shouldhave been dragged to thetrash folder), provisions has its Southern-fried charms.



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Little Big League — Tropical Jinx " 01:59
  • 2 ScHoolboy Q — Studio (Remix) Feat. Nas & BJ the CHicago Kid " 04:52
  • 3 White Arrows — I Want a Taste " 04:15
  • 4 Miley Cyrus — Baby, I'm Gonna Leave You - Led Zeppelin (Cover) " 05:44
  • 5 Chris Brown & Trey Songz — Tuesday (Remix) " 04:26

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA