Gary Higgins, "Seconds" (Drag City)

Critical Mass

by David Marchese

In 1973, Connecticut longhair Gary Higgins recorded Red Hash, a gently gnomic album of post-hippie comedown folk. A subsequent pot bust scuttled his career and sent Hash underground, where lost-gem whispers crescendoed into a 2005 reissue. Seconds, the singer-guitarist's belated sophomore effort, may not be remembered quite so warmly. "Demons" and "Ten-Speed" show that Higgins' amber vocals and crisp guitar skills remain, but too much here floats by on a vague cloud of coffeehouse clichés. Still, it's encouraging that Higgins is back, shaking off the rust.



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Willow Smith — Easy Easy (King Krule Cover) " 02:37
  • 2 Little Big League — Tropical Jinx " 01:59
  • 3 ScHoolboy Q — Studio (Remix) Feat. Nas & BJ the CHicago Kid " 04:52
  • 4 White Arrows — I Want a Taste " 04:15
  • 5 Miley Cyrus — Baby, I'm Gonna Leave You - Led Zeppelin (Cover) " 05:44
  • 6 Chris Brown & Trey Songz — Tuesday (Remix) " 04:26

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA