Fridge, 'The Sun' (Temporary Residence)

The Sun
Critical Mass
Label: Temporary Residence

by SPIN Staff

Perhaps 2007 will be the year of the post-rock revival, with Explosions in the Sky's exquisite roar, Battles' brawny, whippet-fueled prog, and this reunion album by British power trio Fridge. During their six-year hiatus, drummer Sam Jeffers enrolled at Harvard, bassist Adem Ilhan made twinkling pop under his first name, and guitarist Kieran Hebden perfected robot jazz as Four Tet. Hewing to the last's output, The Sun takes time as its theme (see "Clocks" or "Lost Time"), and focuses on Rolex-precise riffs to offset a battery of beats, rattles, and ringing bells.

Now Hear This: Fridge - "Clocks" DOWNLOAD MP3



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 J Dilla — Give Em What They Want " 02:45
  • 2 Low Leaf — Set Me Free " 02:13
  • 3 Doe Paoro — Nobody " 03:05
  • 4 Chromeo with Ezra Koenig — Ezra's Interlude " 01:55
  • 5 The Julie Ruin — Brightside " 03:04
  • 6 Mirel Wagner — What Love Looks Like " 03:07
  • 7 Amen Dunes — I Can't Dig It " 04:53

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA