The Fleshtones, 'Take a Good Look' (Yep Rock)

Take a Good Look
Critical Mass
Label: Yep Roc

by Shannon Zimmerman

Like long, blissfully lost college drinking buddies who keep reappearing on your doorstep, the Fleshtones are back for another round. On their 19th album, they stick with the formula they basically perfected on 1982's Roman Gods, splashing roller-rink organ over crusty surf guitar while manic frontman Peter Zaremba chants/sings/sloganeers like Eddie Argos' favorite wacky uncle. Best bets are the handclaps-and-harmonica-powered "Love Yourself," the country-fried "This Time Josephine," and "Never Grew Up," a bashing, Stones-inflected ode to immaturity that captions the Fleshtones' entire career.

Now Hear This: The Fleshtones - "Jet Set Fleshtones" DOWNLOAD MP3



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA