The Field, 'Yesterday and Today' (Anti-/Kompakt)

Critical Mass

by Jessica Suarez

Swedish electronic dance producer Axel Willner consistently finds the sweet spot between breathlessness and breathing too hard on his follow-up to 2007's acclaimed From Here We Go Sublime. The cover of "Everybody's Got to Learn Sometime" (by British pop group the Korgis) is hypnotic and lush, while "I Have the Moon, You Have the Internet" unfolds as a rainforest of clicks, buzzes, and drips. On the title track, Willner lays hair-thin vocal samples over the austere rhythms of Battles drummer John Stanier, editing words down to satisfied sighs. It's all too cerebral for the dance floor, but aren't those sighs why we go dancing anyway?

Listen: The Field, "The More That I Do"



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 J Dilla — Give Em What They Want " 02:45
  • 2 Low Leaf — Set Me Free " 02:13
  • 3 Doe Paoro — Nobody " 03:05
  • 4 Chromeo with Ezra Koenig — Ezra's Interlude " 01:55
  • 5 The Julie Ruin — Brightside " 03:04
  • 6 Mirel Wagner — What Love Looks Like " 03:07
  • 7 Amen Dunes — I Can't Dig It " 04:53

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA