F--k Buttons, 'Tarot Sport' (ATP)

Critical Mass

by Jessica Suarez

They endorsed "Sweet Love for Planet Earth" on 2008's Street Horrrsing, but these Bristol, England hippies get leaner, cleaner, and more athletic on their follow-up. Sonically, they're still supreme noise crafters -- "The Lisbon Maru" (named for a World War II Japanese freighter sunk by an American sub) trades their debut's airy tribalism for military snares and horse clops. But with the scuzziness mostly gone, the duo's piebald melodies push up front ("Olympians" plucks a beautiful keyboard line from an organ haze). And album bookends "Surf Solar" and "Flight of the Feathered Serpent" even add sweaty dance beats, so the inevitable distorted fade-outs feel more like a cooldown than a meltdown.



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Azealia Banks — Heavy Metal And Reflective " 02:31
  • 2 Mystery Skulls — Paralyzed (Single Version) " 02:34
  • 3 G-Eazy — Say Ft. French Montana " 04:32
  • 4 Kevin Morby — We Did It All Wrong " 04:47
  • 5 Kiesza — Giant In My Heart (Arches Remix) " 05:50
  • 6 Bellows — Funny Things " 03:17
  • 7 Living Days — Thrill Anybody (MNDR Remix) " 04:07

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA