Explosions in the Sky, 'Take Care. Take Care. Take Care.' (Temporary Residence)

Take Care. Take Care. Take Care.
Critical Mass
Release Date: April 26, 2011
Label: New West

by Josh Modell

It's no slight to call these Austin instrumentalists "soundtrack-y" -- they did, after all, blow up after creating incidental music for the Friday Night Lights film and TV show. And though it's unusual that incremental, voiceless, hold-your-breath compositions -- played largely on guitars and drums -- can pack big venues, their fifth album's gorgeously towering moments ("Human Qualities") seem boundless. With subtle sonic shifts (such as chanting on the almost-poppy "Trembling Hands"), the songs are reliably dynamic, turning hushed beats and lightly scratched guitar into overwhelming drama.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Katy Perry — Katy Perry - This Is How We Do (feat. RiFF RAFF) " 03:24
  • 2 Prince & 3RDEYEGIRL — Prince - Clouds " 04:34
  • 3 P. Reign — DnF (feat. Drake & Future) " 03:25
  • 4 Stalley — Jackin' Chevys (Prod. by Rashad) " 03:26
  • 5 Emile Haynie — A Kiss Goodbye (feat. Charlotte Gainsbourg, Devonté Hynes, Sampha) " 03:46
  • 6 Rusko — I Wanna Mingle (ft Pusher) " 02:37

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA