El-P, 'Weareallgoingtoburninhell-megamixxx3' (Gold Dust)

Critical Mass
Label: Gold Dust

by christopherschultz

Hip-hop metalsmith El-P continues to score the impending robot uprising on this 46-minute, quasi-industrial instrumental suite. With double-time beats, Trent Reznor–level distortion, lost-in-the- matrix digital doodles, and the occasional gunshot, megamixxx3 works like a headbanger companion to El's 2007 album, I'll Sleep When You're Dead-soaring, paranoid, and ghoulish. Swooping synths squirm uneasily out of the same early-'80s retro-future haunted by Giorgio Moroder, Francis Monkman, and Vangelis; but this hip-hop purist jams them all through the blustery, moody boom of Schoolly D's crusty slaughterhouse.





00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Little Big League — Tropical Jinx " 01:59
  • 2 ScHoolboy Q — Studio (Remix) Feat. Nas & BJ the CHicago Kid " 04:52
  • 3 Miley Cyrus — Baby, I'm Gonna Leave You - Led Zeppelin (Cover) " 05:44
  • 4 Chris Brown & Trey Songz — Tuesday (Remix) " 04:26
  • 5 Buzzcocks — "It's Not You" " 02:46

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA