Edan, 'Echo Party' (Five Day Weekend/Lewis)

Critical Mass

by Mosi Reeves

Boston-baked weirdo MC-producer Edan Portnoy has kept silent since his 2005 indie-rap masterwork Beauty and the Beat, and Echo Party, a trussed-up mix tape copping old-school hip-hop and disco tracks (and no original material), seems burdened by expectations. Edan drowns his fanciful edits of Funky Four Plus One and Spoonie Gee with too many turntable scratches, squealing noises, and echo effects, transforming the grooves into the equivalent of a Pink Floyd laser light show. As Jay-Z might say, "Let that bitch breathe."



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Willow Smith — Easy Easy (King Krule Cover) " 02:37
  • 2 Little Big League — Tropical Jinx " 01:59
  • 3 ScHoolboy Q — Studio (Remix) Feat. Nas & BJ the CHicago Kid " 04:52
  • 4 White Arrows — I Want a Taste " 04:15
  • 5 Miley Cyrus — Baby, I'm Gonna Leave You - Led Zeppelin (Cover) " 05:44
  • 6 Chris Brown & Trey Songz — Tuesday (Remix) " 04:26

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA