Echo and the Bunnymen, 'Siberia' (Cooking Vinyl)

Critical Mass
Label: Cooking Vinyl

by Julia Simon

It might seem that with Siberia, Echo and the Bunnymen's first release in four years, the post-punk Liverpudlians were trying to rehash the glories from their prodigious 1980-1987 period. They recruited Hugh Jones, the studio vet behind their 1981 hit Heaven Up Here, and they even culled darkly lush anthems that sound lifted straight from that release. While "Stormy Weather" and "Parthenon Drive" showcase how the Bunnymen still masterfully channel gloom-filled angst into subtle psychedelia, the rest of the tracks demonstrate how the band have embraced maturation.



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Roger Sellers — Waves " 06:30
  • 2 Dorian Concept — Ann River, Mn " 04:08
  • 3 Run the Jewels — Blockbuster Night Part 1 " 02:32
  • 4 T.I. — New National Anthem Feat Skylar Grey " 04:17
  • 5 Anna Lunoe — All Out (Kastle Remix) " 04:37
  • 6 Katy Perry — Katy Perry - This Is How We Do (feat. RiFF RAFF) " 03:24

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA