Dr. Dog, 'Fate' (Park The Van)

Critical Mass
Label: Park the Van

by David Marchese

Dr. Dog dig the old stuff. Not only does Fate, the Philly quintet's third album, have songs named "The Old Days," "Uncovering the Old," and "100 Years," but its choirboy vocals, spiky guitar solos, and splashes of blue-eyed soul evoke Smile-era Beach Boys and the Band. Heck, even Stephen Foster would tip his hat to the rickety keyboard lines and lyrics about trains. Though Fate's sepia sweetness and the band's ever-improving instrumental ingenuity (see 'em live!) can't mask a vaguely troubling lack of original ideas, Dr. Dog wears the vintage look amiably well.



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 J Dilla — Give Em What They Want " 02:45
  • 2 Low Leaf — Set Me Free " 02:13
  • 3 Doe Paoro — Nobody " 03:05
  • 4 Chromeo with Ezra Koenig — Ezra's Interlude " 01:55
  • 5 The Julie Ruin — Brightside " 03:04
  • 6 Mirel Wagner — What Love Looks Like " 03:07
  • 7 Amen Dunes — I Can't Dig It " 04:53

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA