Disco Inferno, 'The 5 EPs' (One Little Indian)

The 5 EPs
Critical Mass
Release Date: August 26, 2011
Label: One Little Indian

by Mike Powell

Form a bleak, driving post-punk band like Joy Division. Take it down a notch. Get a sampler. Replace drums with the sound of wind, water, traffic, and breaking glass. Undermine your guitar with a cloud of effects. Sing like you talk. Be cold and beautiful, but retain harsh noise and the word "fuckers" -- unchecked beauty is what killed Romanticism. Do it in the early '90s U.K., when everyone was reheating Beatles leftovers dressed up with processed drums. Start out weird, get weirder, and end up being the missing link between two things that never happened.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Voli feat. Misun — Burn Everything " 03:51
  • 2 Emay — MAIR " 04:09
  • 3 Grooms — Doctor M " 06:09
  • 4 The Suffers — Make Some Room " 04:34
  • 5 KLOË — Grip " 03:24
  • 6 Dead Right! — Rising Tide (Saint Motel Remix) " 03:17

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA