Dead Child, 'Attack' (Quarterstick)

Critical Mass
Label: Quarter Stick

by Josh Modell

It's tempting but ultimately wrong to view Dead Child's Attack -- straightforward classic Brit-metal played by pedigreed American indie rockers -- as a tongue-in-cheek parody. The hearts of these Louisville vets (most notably Tortoise and Slint alumnus David Pajo) seem to pump actual hesher blood. Iron Maiden and Judas Priest are the most obvious, neck-exhausting antecedents, but bits of early Metallica and a thousand forgotten thrash bands also lurk. There's no trace of haughty indie jazz or math rock, but there are a slew of lyrics like "When the clock strikes 12, they'll steal your soul!"



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 M.I.A. — Gold " 01:48
  • 2 A Sunny Day in Glasgow — Bye Bye, Big Ocean (The End) [Ice Choir Remix] " 04:35
  • 3 Azealia Banks — Heavy Metal And Reflective " 02:31
  • 4 Mystery Skulls — Paralyzed (Single Version) " 02:34
  • 5 G-Eazy — Say Ft. French Montana " 04:32
  • 6 Kevin Morby — We Did It All Wrong " 04:47
  • 7 Kiesza — Giant In My Heart (Arches Remix) " 05:50

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA