Danger Mouse and Sparklehorse Present: 'Dark Night of the Soul' (EMI)

Dark Night of the Soul
Critical Mass
Label: EMI

by Barry Walters

Now receiving an official release after its "accidental" leak last May provoked by a label dispute, producer Brian "Danger Mouse" Burton's multimedia concept album about spiritual crisis carries even more weight after the suicides of collaborator Mark "Sparklehorse" Linkous and guest vocalist Vic Chesnutt. But the music's manicured noise and orchestrated loveliness is strong enough to support the austere context. And vocalists Wayne Coyne, Julian Casablancas, and Iggy Pop bring a tenacity that tempers the finely articulated despair.



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Jessie Ware — Share It All " 04:18
  • 2 Rustie — Attak (feat. Danny Brown) " 03:01
  • 3 M.I.A. — Gold " 01:48
  • 4 A Sunny Day in Glasgow — Bye Bye, Big Ocean (The End) [Ice Choir Remix] " 04:35
  • 5 Azealia Banks — Heavy Metal And Reflective " 02:31

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA