Crystal Castles, 'Crystal Castles' (Fiction)

Crystal Castles
Critical Mass
Label: Fiction

by Mosi Reeves

On Crystal Castles' 2008 debut, frontwoman Alice Glass snarled and squawked over partner Ethan Kath's electro-punk beat barrage like the second coming of X-Ray Spex's Poly Styrene. Two years later, our Canadian antiheroes return with something deeper than digital histrionics and crazily infectious beats.

Kath is still addicted to eight-bit keyboard melodies, and Glass is just as confrontational. However, she's mostly abandoned her agitated screaming (the digital hardcore of "Doe Deer" and electro-squalls of "Baptism" being notable exceptions). She coos seductively on "Celestica" and yelps through "Pap Smear," drawing you into her cryptic poetry. "So many shades of white / So many shades of pale / I know how to cut / A wound that will not heal," she sings, as Kath edits synth flurries that lap against her voice like a whirlpool.

By dispensing with empty bravado, Crystal Castles reveal a depressive, darkwave charisma. "Pap Smear" and "Birds" are beautifully tormented dance songs, full of bleak memories and heartbreak. Kath also adds two transformative, blissfully melancholy remixes of Stina Nordenstam's mid-'90s ballad "I See You Again" (renamed "Violent Dreams" and "Vietnam"). In some ways, Crystal Castles are a classic cut-and-paste outfit, with their chiptune swipes and imaginative reworking of other artists' ideas. But Glass and Kath aren't interested in Coldcut-style kicks. Their angry tantrums may be extinguished, but the gothic sorrow endures.


00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Miley Cyrus — Baby, I'm Gonna Leave You - Led Zeppelin (Cover) " 05:44
  • 2 Chris Brown & Trey Songz — Tuesday (Remix) " 04:26
  • 3 Buzzcocks — "It's Not You" " 02:46
  • 4 The Drums — Magic Mountain " 04:05
  • 5 Jessie Ware — Kind Of...Sometimes...Maybe " 03:46
  • 6 Flying Lotus — Coronus, the Terminator " 02:40
  • 7 JEFF The Brotherhood — Gouge Away " 02:52

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA