The Coral, 'Roots & Echoes' (Red Ink/ Columbia)

Roots & Echoes
Critical Mass
Label: Red Ink/Columbia

by Jon Young

After an attack of burnout, the seven-piece Coral went on hiatus before regrouping for their fifth album, recorded mostly at the studio of longtime fan Noel Gallagher. The result is seductive and understated, with familiar '60s touches -- warm folky vocals, twangy guitar -- and few of their earlier efforts' eccentric psyche­delic under­tones. Proving mellow doesn't equal bland, singer James Skelly offers tender comfort on earnest songs like "Put the Sun Back" and the shimmering "Music at Night," with haunting strings and oboe creating a sense of after-hours mystery.

Now Hear This: The Coral - "Who's Gonna Find Me" WINDOWS MEDIA



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 2 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 3 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 4 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24
  • 5 Chelsea Lankes — Too Young to Fall in Love " 03:11
  • 6 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 7 Holly Miranda — All I Want Is to Be Your Girl " 02:35

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA