The Clientele, 'Bonfires on the Heath' (Merge)

Bonfires on the Heath
Critical Mass
Label: Merge

by SPIN Staff

The Clientele's fey fan base may have winced when the gorgeously wistful "(I Can't Seem) to Make You Mine" soundtracked the inane Keanu Reeves/Sandra Bullock rom-com The Lake House. But mixing bouncy bossa nova pop with melancholy balladry is their forte, and here the suburban London group continue to clear away the fog of their earlier sound, so the brass fanfares of "Share the Night" and "I Wonder Who We Are" practically glisten. Though Bonfires' pacing is erratic, the band keeps winsome romance close.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 M.I.A. — Gold " 01:48
  • 2 A Sunny Day in Glasgow — Bye Bye, Big Ocean (The End) [Ice Choir Remix] " 04:35
  • 3 Azealia Banks — Heavy Metal And Reflective " 02:31
  • 4 Mystery Skulls — Paralyzed (Single Version) " 02:34
  • 5 G-Eazy — Say Ft. French Montana " 04:32
  • 6 Kevin Morby — We Did It All Wrong " 04:47
  • 7 Kiesza — Giant In My Heart (Arches Remix) " 05:50

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA