The Clash, 'Live at Shea Stadium' (Epic/Legacy)

Live at Shea Stadium
Critical Mass
Label: Epic/Legacy

by Chuck Eddy

Supporting the Top 10 breakthrough of Combat Rock, but dividing a reggae-and-hits-heavy set list more or less evenly among their first five albums, a garage band graduates from garageland in front of 50,000 Who partisans on October 13, 1982. Surprisingly, the move lightens them up: "Guns of Brixton" opens bouncing like Antmusic, and serious statements such as "Career Opportunities" feel downright cheerful. Dub dropouts and freestyle toasts monkey with the beat; the rap on "Magnificent Seven" ("A black New York rhythm that we stole one night") yields to "Armagideon Time," then returns for more. Many people probably danced.



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Katy Perry — Katy Perry - This Is How We Do (feat. RiFF RAFF) " 03:24
  • 2 Prince & 3RDEYEGIRL — Prince - Clouds " 04:34
  • 3 P. Reign — DnF (feat. Drake & Future) " 03:25
  • 4 Stalley — Jackin' Chevys (Prod. by Rashad) " 03:26
  • 5 Emile Haynie — A Kiss Goodbye (feat. Charlotte Gainsbourg, Devonté Hynes, Sampha) " 03:46
  • 6 Rusko — I Wanna Mingle (ft Pusher) " 02:37

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA