Christina Aguilera, 'Bionic' (RCA)

Critical Mass
Label: RCA

by christopherschultz

A grab bag of producers give X-tina a Cosmo-gone-cosmic retrofuture makeover, constructing a club-hopping cyborg character equal parts Space Fergie, Space M.I.A., and Space Madonna circa Erotica. Buried under reverb, distortion, and computer st-st-stutter, our pop astronaut mostly wastes the forward-thinking production with cringeworthy lines like "I take myself to be my lawfully wedded bitch." Alas, Aguilera still shines brightest as an Earthling schmaltz merchant, with string-soaked ballads aimed at her young son, lost loves, and insecure self.



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 The Range — Rayman " 03:34
  • 2 Twin Peaks — Strawberry Smoothie " 02:24
  • 3 Jessie Ware — Share It All " 04:18
  • 4 Rustie — Attak (feat. Danny Brown) " 03:01
  • 5 M.I.A. — Gold " 01:48
  • 6 A Sunny Day in Glasgow — Bye Bye, Big Ocean (The End) [Ice Choir Remix] " 04:35

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA